God alone is holy!

Scripture:
 For you alone are holy. – Revelation 15:4b

Observation:
In this passage, we read of a scene in heaven where people, who had given their lives in martyrdom to Jesus, praised the LORD and sang the song of Moses and the Lamb. In the body of the song, the multitude sang that God alone in holy! They acknowledged the fact that holiness can only come from God.

Application:
When I read the phrase, ” For you alone are holy,” I could only think of the fact that I am unworthy of holiness. It humbled me right where I was. Sure, God told us through the apostle James that we are to be holy as God is holy, but the truth is that God alone is holy. We become holy only through the blood of Jesus. It is Jesus’ righteousness that makes us holy. Being holy doesn’t mean obeying a list of dos and don’ts better than the next person. It means being set apart for use by God. Think about it. In the OT at the tabernacle and temples, everything used in them had to be made holy by the shed blood of an animal sacrifice. Then they could be used in service to God. Well, God uses his children as agents in his work here on the earth. All instruments of righteousness have to be made holy. Thus, the blood of Jesus makes us holy and able to work for God. Think about it.

Prayer:
Father, without the blood of Jesus poured out over my spirit and soul, there would be no way possible for me to be holy. As a human born in sin, I was unholy from the beginning. However, you saw fit to send your Son to do for me what I could not do for myself. Thus, it is no wonder why you stated through the writer of Hebrews that without holiness no one can enter into eternity with you. Thank you for making a way when there was no way for me to be with you. You never cease to amaze me and humble me through your awesome power and grace. Again, thank you for loving me. I love you! In Jesus’ name, Amen.

