When was the last time you drank from the springs of the water of life?

Scripture:
 To all who are thirsty I will give freely from the springs of the water of life. – Revelation 21:6b

Observation:
As we near the end of the book of Revelation, we read of the Lord’s establishment of a new heaven and new earth. He causes the city of New Jerusalem to descend above and hover over the new earth. The LORD’s home is now with his people forever. In a short piece from Jesus, John records these words,  To all who are thirsty I will give freely from the springs of the water of life.  Jesus referred to those who accepted his gift of eternal life and had their names written in the Book of Life, as being the ones who receive freely from the springs of the water of life.

Application:
Today’s message sort of thumped me upside the head and caused me to stop and think, “Just how thirsty am I for the LORD?” Do I have a deep desire to be filled by the water of life that Jesus said we can drink from freely. He told the Samaritan woman at the well that those who drink from the water he gives will never thirst again. I’ve drunk from the water of life and have been saved by Jesus from certain destruction, but how much do I really thirst for his love, for being at his feet, for desiring him above all else in my life? Take some time today to look inside yourself, as will I, and determine just how hungry and thirsty are you for the things of God? Do you desire them above all else, or is there something you’ve devoted your time and self?

Prayer:
Father, how much do I really desire you? Lately I’ve felt like the fire hasn’t been as strong or intense as it could be or should be. I’ve let things and people distract me from seeking your kingdom and your righteousness first, above all. I am truly sorry that my love has grown a bit cool. I seem to be distant and nonchalant about things. I ask you to fan the ember that burns in the bottom of my soul with the wind of your Spirit. Please ignite in me again the deep passion and desire for my first love, JESUS! Jesus, I repent of ever letting anyone come between us or anything for that matter. Show me your deep love for me and fill me with renewed passion for all that you desire. Help me to not make it about me but to be all about you. Help me to get out of the rut of life that I’ve been in lately. I need you! In Jesus’ name, Amen.

