You can draw closer to God through spiritual intimacy.

Scripture:
The Lord is good, a strong refuge when trouble comes. He is close to those who trust in him. – Nahum 1:7

Observation:
The prophet Nahum received a message from God with a stern warning for the people of Nineveh, similar to the one given by Jonah. He describes the raging fury of God’s wrath and that it gets poured on God’s enemies. However, the prophet notes that God is good and a strong refuge for those who seek shelter in him. The LORD is close to those who trust in him.

Application:
The apostle James said that if we want God to draw near to us, we are to draw near to him. Although the LORD’s Spirit dwells in the hearts of his children, he can still become closer to each person in the level of intimacy they share with him. We cannot get any closer physically with God because he does live in us. The truth of the matter is that God wants us to seek him out spiritually and draw ever closer to him in spiritual intimacy. They say you can never really know someone until you’ve lived with them. Well, the same could be said of God. You can never fully know him in this life because everything done here is in part. However, we can still get to “know” him in greater details of mercy and grace and love and compassion and Father-child relationship when seek out his heart and love him with all that is in us.

Thus, we have to ask ourselves, “Are we as intimate spiritually with God as we can be? Are we drawing nearer to him and his heart daily?” The prophet said that God is close to those that trust in him. He is a strong refuge to those who need him in times of trouble. Thus, when life throws you a curve ball, don’t be afraid. The Coach will give you the proper signal on what to do and when to do it. You’ll find solace and peace and rest in God IF you put your trust in him. Life won’t seem so overwhelming or daunting. Those who live in the shelter of the Most High will find rest in the shadow of the Almighty. (Ps. 91:1)

Prayer:
Father, I need your solace and need to take refuge in you. I put my trust in you, and I realize that I am in desperate need of your provision. Our level of spiritual intimacy has not been what it could be or should be because of my inattentiveness to your Spirit. I’ve allowed people to come between us. I’ve allowed things to come between us. Therefore, I make this declaration to you today, “I am letting nothing or no one come between us!” You are my God, and I am your child. There is no other god like you, O God! Without you my life is nothing. So how dare I allow anyone or anything to distance us in our relationship! Show me the way into greater spiritual intimacy with you! I want our relationship to be closer than ever before. May it grow more intimate daily! In Jesus’ name, Amen.

