Let us all get quiet before the LORD.

Scripture:
 Be silent before the Lord, all humanity, for he is springing into action from his holy dwelling. – Zechariah 2:13

Observation:
The prophet Zechariah received a message from God in a vision about the people in exile in Babylon. The LORD told him to tell the people that they were his most-prized possession. The countries he’d used to punish them had gone far beyond what God intended. Thus, he would punish them for their harsh treatment of his people. In that message, the LORD told his people, Israel, that the whole world should be silent before him because he was going to take action in response to the treatment of the Jews in exile.

Application:
When I read the words above that the whole world should be silent before God, I was taken back for a moment. It make me take a moment and just sit silently before the LORD. It’s not that I’m trying to create a new doctrine out of one verse; however, it does make me think of the words of David when God told him to be still and know that YHWH is God. How often do we just take the time to shut our big mouths and stop asking God for everything for us and then listen to him? Or, when do we just sit there at the feet of Jesus, as did Mary, and learn from him without opening our big mouths?!? We need to learn the art of being silent before God and just know that he is! We might be surprised at what we learn from the LORD when he speaks to us rather than us always talking to him.

Prayer:
Father, I shut my mouth! Speak more to me and let me learn from you. I need to learn how to just be still before you and revere you simply because you are who you are! Teach me. I will listen and learn. In Jesus’ name, Amen.

