Lord, you are my strength, and I do love you!

Scripture:
I love you, Lord; you are my strength. – Psalm 18:1

Observation:
David wrote another psalm that declared the greatness and goodness of God. In the very opening of the piece, he declared his personal love for God and noted that God was his source of strength.

Application:
David had a Spirit-inspired insight that we need to grasp. Even Paul noted much later in time the same principle when Jesus spoke to him about His Grace being sufficient to empower all Paul did. So often we try aimlessly to do things in our power and ability, but we fail time and again. A prophet of God wrote that it’s not by our human power or might that we do anything, but it’s by the Spirit of God. God empowers us to do all we need to do and can do. We need to learn how to humble ourselves before God and rely upon his strength. It is his very grace that gives us the ability to do anything and everything. We don’t deserve to live, but God chooses to hold together the sub-atomic particles that comprise our very physical being. He decides if we wake again to live through another day. It’s his Spirit that quickens our mortal beings. Thus, we need to be like David and express our gratitude and love to God for being our source of strength and life.

Prayer:
Father, as the psalmist wrote, “I love you.” You are the source of all that I am. You created me. Therefore, I take this opportunity to openly declare before all my undying love for you. I can love you because you loved me first. I am still learning the extent of your love daily. I will never know its full depth until I spend eternity with you, yet I desire to know your love in greater detail and in greater depth than I have ever experienced. Teach me how to be intimate with you in our walk. You are my source for everything. In Jesus’ name, Amen.

