In Jesus, I have all I will ever need.

Scripture:
The Lord is my shepherd; I have all that I need. – Psalm 23:1

Observation:
This psalm is the celebrated work of David describing the LORD as his great shepherd. David having tended sheep as a lad could make great use of a metaphor to describe the LORD and his caring heart for his people, as a shepherd cares for his flock. In the first line of this terrific piece, David notes that God is his shepherd, but he also declares that he has all he needs.

Application:
Can you say, like David, that you have all you need? Do you really have all you need? If you have Jesus, then, yes, you do have all you need. Jesus is our source for everything. There is nothing made that was not made by him. Are you in need of comfort? Of food? Of clothing? Of love? What do you have need of in this life, and the life to come? The Bible tells us that if we seek God’s kingdom and righteousness first, above all else, he will provide us with the necessities of life. It also tells us that God will supply ALL our NEED according to HIS RICHES in glory by Christ Jesus. Again, it is JESUS who supplies all we need. Whether the need is spiritual, soulful, or physical, God will supply it. He loves to bestow upon us what we need, and he knows what we need before we ask. However, he wants us to ask him for what we need because it shows not only reliance upon him instead of ourselves, but it shows our love for him, too.

Prayer:
Father, I can truly say that I have all I need or will ever need because of you. You are Jehovah Jireh, the LORD God my provider. I trust in you to provide for me daily. Jesus taught me to pray for my this day, my daily bread. I learned from the lesson taught to ancient Israel. They tried to hoard manna, which rotted, instead of gathering it daily as you provided. Your provision is new daily. Thus, I don’t want to try and live on yesterday’s manna, but I want to receive from you today what you have for me. I have all I need in you. You are to be praised for who you are. I love you. In Jesus’ name, Amen.

