Our futures are in God’s hands if we trust his leadership and direction.

Scripture:
But I am trusting you, O Lord, saying, “You are my God!” My future is in your hands. – Psalm 31:14-15a

Observation:
In this brief piece David talks of how he feels despised and rejected by all around him, even his closest companions. He goes on and on about the despair he is in and feels weak. However, he does praise God for being his fortress and refuge from his enemies. He demonstrates his trust in God by saying that God is his God and that his future is in God’s hands.

Application:
David seemed troubled when he wrote this piece, yet he managed to remember who was in control. He knew that God held his future in his hands. David didn’t have to sweat where or when or what or how things would happen. He got a little excited from time to time about the predicaments he found himself in, but he always acknowledged God in all his ways. We need to do likewise. Life can be daunting at times and seem like it’s coming down all around us and overwhelm us. However, if we maintain the position that David did, “My future is in your hands,” then we should be able to find peace and solace in trusting God to guide and lead us where he wants us to go. Solomon wrote that if we acknowledge God in all our ways, he will order our steps. Do we confess that Jehovah is our God? Do we know and trust him with our future? If so, then why is there so much despair and turmoil within the body of Christ nowadays? Let’s be open and honest with ourselves and with God about our futures! We need to trust Dad for guidance and direction, for there is a way that seems right to people but leads to destruction.

Prayer:
Father, I openly admit to you and all humanity that I trust you. You are my God, as David wrote. My future is truly in your hands. I can do things that influence and shape that future, but I turn over all my dreams and aspirations to you. I want to live where you want me to live, do what you want me to do, and be who you want me to be. To do so requires me dying to myself and letting you arise within me. I abandon my wants for your will and desires. Show me the way that leads to life down the narrow path. Where I go depends on where you tell me to go. You speak; I will listen. Your humble servant praying in Jesus’ name, Amen.

