Do everything as though unto God.

Scripture:
Commit everything you do to the Lord. Trust him, and he will help you. – Psalm 37:5

Observation:
David began this piece with words of wisdom in regards to how we think of those who have great possessions in this life, but he shows us that they lose everything in the end – at death. Then he begins talking about how we should trust in the Lord, how we should delight in the Lord, and how we should commit everything to the Lord. When we do the latter, the Lord helps us.

Application:
It’s interesting to note that Paul quoted so much of David’s work in his epistles. Paul taught us to do all that we do as though unto the Lord.  We don’t know if this teaching is derived from David’s piece here in Psalm 37, but it does say the same thing. David said to commit all that we do to the Lord. That sure sounds a lot like what Paul said. It’s reassuring to know that God stays the same through the ages. He never changes. His loves never fails us. We are to commit it all to God, trust him, and know that he will help us. Thus, I encourage you to join me in trusting all that you do and all that you have to God. By the way, God said that the earth and everything in it is his. Thus, all you have is his anyway. So why not entrust it to him and be the best steward you can be?

Prayer:
Father, I do entrust all that I have to you, and I commit all that I do to you. I don’t want to do anything or say anything that might bring a disgrace upon your name or against your kingdom. As a child of the King, I want to represent you well. Thus, I make it my priority to do all I do as though unto you even though I may be under obligation to someone else in my endeavors. In Jesus’ name, Amen.

