Only fools say,” there is no God.”

Scripture:
Only fools say in their hearts, “There is no God.” – Psalm 53:1a

Observation:
David writes here in this psalm the true definition of a fool. He simply states that the fool is the one who says in his heart that there is no God.

Application:
Hours after I read this passage, I encountered a young woman who actually uttered this fateful words. She told me point blank that there is no God. This woman also said that God had done nothing for her but cause her grief and trouble. Then she proceeded to claim that she was an athiest. I attempted to share with her the folly of saying what she said. I extended the grace and love of God to her, but she would have none of it. She had hardened her heart to the point of truly rejecting God and all that he is. I wept for her later and continue to pray for her. I hope to be a positive influence for her that she may see my good deeds for God’s kingdom and give God glory and one day soon come to know God as I do.

Prayer:
Father, I have never heard anyone ever utter those dreaded words that there is no God. However, as you know, that all changed today. My colleague said those very words to me. My heart sunk in my chest with grave concern for her. She is young and so hurt in her spirit. I pray for her now and lift her up before you and ask you to show her through me that you do exist and do love her enough to have died for her and paid the price she should’ve paid. Have mercy upon her and woo her as you did me. In Jesus’ name, Amen.

