Wait on God and see the victory he brings.

Scripture:
I wait quietly before God, for my victory comes from him. – Psalm 62:1

Observation:
Throughout the psalms he wrote, David spoke of the greatness of God and how God was his source of refuge and strength. Even more so, David noted here and elsewhere about our need to be able to sit quietly and wait patiently on God. In our psalm 46, God spoke directly to David and told him to be still and know that God is God. The emphasis is on the being still and knowing. Here in this piece David noted that victory comes from God.

Application:
In several places in the OT, God acted on behalf of his chosen people when they faced overwhelming odds against massive enemy forces. When the Israelites had left Egypt with Pharaoh’s army breathing down their neck and the Red Sea in front of them, they thought they were defeated. However, Moses told them to stand still and see the salvation of the LORD as he parted the waters and provided a way of escape from certain death. Well, we need to learn the same lesson. There are times in life when we think God should move when WE WANT, yet he knows the perfect time to move. IF we get ahead of God in our lives, then we end up walking through a “desert” for a long time until our flesh “dies” and becomes submitted to God. When we humble ourselves before God and wait on him to move, THEN we will have victory and not before that time.

Prayer:
Father, teach me patience. There are times when I get anxious to get out into the harvest field on a full time basis and do nothing else. I know in my head that I need to be still and wait on you. Thank you for slowing my jets and cooling my heels. I don’t want to overreact and then do something I’ll regret later, as I’ve done so many times in the past. Thus, I humble myself before you and wait to see your victory in my life. Thank you. In Jesus’ name, Amen.

