Is your life a godly example to those around you?

Scripture:
My life is an example to many, because you have been my strength and protection. – Psalm 71:7

Observation:
David wrote another psalm about how he needed God to protect him and be his refuge. In his acknowledgement of his need for God’s protection, David wrote about how he was an example to the world around him when it came to living a godly life. It wasn’t a matter of pride for him because he gave God the credit for being able to live a godly life. He said that God gave him the strength and protection needed to live as an example to others.

Application:
As I read this psalm, I thought to myself, “Am I living a life that is an example to others of what a godly life is?” Thus, I had to take a moment and take inventory of my thoughts, words, and behavior. I realized that lately there have been things I’ve done and said that could and more than likely did bring reproach to God’s name and kingdom. Thus, I repented and asked God to forgive me of my wrongs that I’d done in the recent past. Then I had to think about whether those things had happened because of me. I again realized that I had not been seeking God for his strength and protection in order to be able to live a godly example before others. We are the only Bible and Jesus some people ever experience. Ouch!

Prayer:
Father, thank you first off for forgiving me of the sins I confessed. You’re gracious and willing to love me despite my shortcomings. Thus, I ask you to empower me to live a godly life and be able to be a positive example for both believers and sinners. My words and deeds should be such that they bring your name and kingdom glory not reproach. May you continue to teach me and guide me on this path of life. May my actions be a reason for others to want to come to know you as their personal Lord and Savior and not drive them away. In Jesus’ name, Amen.

