We need to listen to God.

Scripture:
Oh, that my people would listen to me! – Psalm 81:13a

Observation:
God spoke to Israel through the psalmist in this piece. He referred to the time he delivered his people from slavery in Egypt and the rules he set out for them on how to live their lives. They chose not to follow God’s plan and were turned over to their own evil desires. An entire generation had to die out before the people of God could enter into the promised land he’d prophesied to them eons ago. God told them that if they had just listened to him, he’d have provided all they needed.

Application:
This short passage above from Psalm 81 made me think about God’s people today, Christians of all walks of life. Are we listening to God today? Do we do what he wants or what we want? God’s desire for his people then is still the same today. He wants us to listen to him. One lesson that I have learned from my time living for God is that blessing follows obedience. I am not advocating living under the confines of legalism, but I do know and believe that we have to honor what is God’s standard in our lives out of our love for him. When we live for God, we should want to do what God says and not follow the evil desires of our hearts. Our hearts are deceiving things and can lead us astray. Let us be sensitive to God’s Spirit and heed all that he says to us.

Prayer:
Father, help me to always be sensitive to your Spirit and what you have to say to me. I am preparing myself for my time of prayer and fasting coming up at the outset of 2013. I need to get alone and spend quality, intimate time with you. I don’t want to follow after my heart and be led astray nor do I want to become so hardened in my heart that I can’t hear you. I want to be able to always hear the still, soft voice of my Lord. May your will be done and not mine. I love you with all that I am. In Jesus’ name, Amen.

