God hears and answers our prayers.

Scripture:
I took my troubles to the Lord; I cried out to him, and he answered my prayer. – Psalm 120:1

Observation:
We are given a short discourse on the troubles of the tongue and what it does for us. The psalmist writes that he took his troubles to God in prayer, as he cried out to God. The author also notes that God answered his prayer, too.

Application:
The truth of our walk with God is that it is all about him. We spend so much of our lives going to God for this issue or that one. However, do we ever take the time to just ask God what he wants to talk about today? Do we engage God with the perspective of what we can do for him? Give him? However, it is nice to know that we can approach our heavenly Father boldly, no doubt, and present our petitions to him and have them answered and solved by his Grace. Do you have an issue that needs God’s attention? Then don’t be timid about taking your issue before him. He is the faithful God and will hear your prayer and answer it. The answer will be, “Yes,” “No,” or “Not now.” Don’t get anxious if he comes back with the 2nd or 3rd answer. He knows what we need before we ask and knows better than we do about what we need and don’t need. We need to seek his kingdom and righteousness first in our lives, and THEN he will provide us with the necessities of life, of which we won’t have to fret.

Prayer:
Father, thank you for taking the time to hear our prayers and answer them. Most people often feel like their prayers hit the ceiling and bounce right back down at them. Well, as I read this passage, I heard your Spirit telling me not to be bashful about bringing what I need before you. You tell us to throw down our cares before you because you care for us. Thus, I will approach you later today in quiet and solitude about the issues that lie before me and for which I need your guidance and counsel, O majestic One. Thank you in advance. In Jesus’ name, Amen.

