Are you doing everything God says?

Scripture:
So Noah did everything exactly as God had commanded him. – Genesis 6:22

Observation:
God noted that the earth became filled with violence because of human behavior. People denigrated themselves to the lowest levels possible. Their hearts were continually filled with violence and evil. Thus, God decided to wipe out the human race and start over with Noah, the only upright person before God on the whole of the earth. God warned Noah about the coming deluge that would wipe out humanity and to build a large craft that would house his family and two of every animal that crawled, walked or flew. The Bible tells us that Noah did everything that God instructed him to do in preparing the large boat and bringing the animals aboard it to be preserved from the flood that would destroy the earth.

Application:
The Bible tells us that Noah walked in close fellowship with God. He was a righteous man. He did all that God told him. What a legacy and testimony! This passage encourages me to be like Noah in walking closely with God and be obedient to what God says. Each of us has a mission laid out before us and given to us by God. He gives us the choice to follow that path and enjoy his blessings or to wander from that path and suffer the consequences of our choices. I strive daily to walk in close relationship with God, and I want to be known as someone who did everything exactly as God had commanded him. Are you willing to forego your personal wants and desires to live the life that God designed for you? I am. Join me.

Prayer:
Father, as I’ve begun this new year, 2013, I hear you speaking to me about doing what YOU want. I have for too long done what I wanted to do or what I thought you wanted me to do. And so, I paid a hefty price for the decisions I made. Show me in this new year exactly where you want me to be and exactly what you want me to be doing. I want it to be said of me that I did everything exactly as you told me to do, like Noah and more importantly like Jesus. I need your guidance and strength. Thank you. In Jesus’ name, Amen.

