God’s promises come to pass when he says they will, not when we do.

Scripture:
The Lord kept his word and did for Sarah exactly what he had promised. She became pregnant, and she gave birth to a son for Abraham in his old age. This happened at just the time God had said it would. – Genesis 21:1-2

Observation:
The LORD followed through on his promise to Abe and Sarah and gave them a child one year later from the time he said she’d deliver Isaac their son. The Bible points out to us that the birth of the child happened precisely when God said it would.

Application:
There have been things that God has spoken to me and said would happen, but I never really trusted him to do it in his timing. I suffered from the same flaw as Abe and birthed several “Ishmaels” in my life. I should have trusted God to do things in his timing because he always comes through on his promises when he determines. He knows better than us what the right timing is and should be. We have to learn to trust God to do things for us when he determines and not when we think they should be done. We are human, flawed, and cannot see the ultimate consequences of our actions in the future, as God can.

Prayer:
Father, you’ve recently spoken things to me yourself and through others concerning great events to take place in my life, so I have taken this time during the beginning of this new year to seek you out and hear from you about the direction in life you want me to take. I have tired of “intervening” and interrupting your time schedule. Enough Ishmaels have been born and died because because of my unbelief and humanity. Isaac is about to be born, and I don’t want to abort the promise. Your will be done in my life on your timetable. I yield to you my LORD and King. In Jesus’ name, Amen.

