God is surely with us.

Scripture:
 I will go down to Egypt with you, and I will surely bring you back again. – Genesis 46:6a

Observation:
Once Jake’s sons had returned to him with the news of Joe being prime minister of Egypt, Jake couldn’t believe his ears. However, God spoke to Jake and told him to not be afraid to go down to Egypt and live. Why? Because God said he would be with Jake and his family and would bring him back again to the Promised Land. God would not allow Jake to be left in Egypt, but instead, he would be buried in Canaan.

Application:
I hear the Spirit of God telling me not to fear going where he tells me to go or what to do. Why? Because God is with me no less than he was with Jacob. Jake had been promised that his children would inherit the land of Canaan and be made into a great nation, but the thought of living in Egypt weighed heavily on his mind. He may have feared dying in that pagan nation and being left there. God assured him that YHWH was with him and would return him to his promised land. God has prepared me to do a work for him that at times seems daunting and overwhelming to say the least. However, I know that God is with me and will sustain me. I have to get it into my heart and not just in my head that God really does hold me in the palm of his hand and will keep me from harm. God will see me through everything, and I will trust in him.

Prayer:
Father, why at times do I worry about the future when I know that you are in control? I don’t understand how and why my mind plays with my spirit and tries to get me off track? You’ve laid out the path for my life, and I must trust in you for everything. You have said that you are with me and will keep me, as I rest in the shadow of the Almighty and make my dwelling place there. LORD, cover me with your wings and give me greater resolve to do the things you’ve told me to do. I need you. I love you. In Jesus’ name, Amen.

