To fulfill what God said through the prophets….

Scripture:
[In some variant] this took place to fulfill what the Lord had said through the prophet… – Matthew 1:22; 2:5, 14, 17, 23

Observation:
In the opening chapters of Matthew’s gospel account, we read of the genealogy of Jesus and the events that surrounded his birth and Herod’s attempts to execute the Christ child. In the first two chapters we read in five places that prophecy proclaimed by the OT servants of God came to pass. God delivered on his promises to the prophets and his people Israel.

Application:
When I read through this passage (Matt. 1-3) and of all these messianic prophecies that were fulfilled in Jesus, I can’t help but think of how awesome God is! Several hundred years before the birth of Jesus, the prophets declared these 5 predictions concerning the Lord’s birth and childhood. Although there are only 5 prophecies fulfilled in the first two opening chapters of Matthew, a numbers man calculated the odds of Jesus fulfilling eight (8) prophecies (see the discussion on Christ’s fulfillment of prophecy probability on this web page http://www.goodnewsdispatch.org/math.html) with the odds being 1 in 10,000,000,000,000,000,000,000,000,000!!!!!! Were the prophets just guessing? Or, did God orchestrate his awesome power! To me this means that God is definitely in control and WILL bring to fruition ALL the prophecies declared in the Bible AS WELL AS the things he’s spoken to me and over me. I will trust in the almighty God to do what he said he will do. No doubt about it!

Prayer:
Father, I am truly humbled by the pinpoint accuracy of prophecy fulfillment from OT scripture concerning Jesus alone, despite all the others yet to come and that have been fulfilled. This amazing fact tells me that I should never ever doubt you in doing in my life what you’ve spoken! Your word never returns void to you and will accomplish what you set it out to do. Thus, I place ALL my trust in you and humble myself before you. May you increase that I may decrease. Your will be done in my life, not mine. In Jesus’ name, Amen.

