No one ever said traveling the narrow wasn’t difficult.

Scripture:
But the gateway to life is very narrow and the road is difficult, and only a few ever find it. – Matthew 7:14

Observation:
Nearing the end of his Sermon on the Mount, Jesus taught his disciples the lesson of treating others the way they wanted to be treated. From there he moved into a very little liked principle about the Christian walk. He told them that the highway to hell is broad and easy and found by many, yet the path that leads to life, through Jesus, is narrow and difficult and found by few.

Application:
Many so-called preachers teach that the Christian life is one filled with material wealth and economic prosperity and idolized in the saying “sloppy agape” grace and “name it-claim it” or “blab and grab” faith. They are so far from the truth. They even go so far to say that if a person merely utters the words, “Jesus come into my life and forgive my sins,” that they are saved and all will be well. These “preachers” dupe people to believe that the Christian life and walk is just that a walk through the park on Sunday where we just stop and smell the roses along the way.

Well, contrary to their popular belief, Jesus himself said that the path that leads to life, eternal life, is narrow, difficult, and not found by many. Didn’t he also say that he is the WAY, the truth, and the LIFE and that outside of him there is no way to God the Father? Well, I think he stated quite succinctly and accurately. Not everyone will find Jesus. The path that leads to him and eternity isn’t a walk in the park. There are perils along the way as well as trials and difficulties. Even Peter told we should count ourselves fortunate to suffer for the cause of Christ and should expect to do so. Paul reiterated this message throughout his letters.

If we are a true believer in Christ, then we should expect to have difficulties. Why? Because Jesus said they would come. When we get through these trying times, they just make us more like Jesus anyway. He learned the lesson and pain of suffering for you and me to set us free from the penalty of sin. Do you think that your any better than he was and is? Think about it.

Prayer:
Father, I don’t know that I’ve suffered to the level of Paul or Peter, in fact I know I haven’t. I’ve had a fairly easy life in this world. I’ve been blessed my whole life. I’ve never done without or gone hungry or been homeless. There are many that I have helped who were in that situation. I expect to someday pay a price for my being a disciple and child of God. Accordingly, may your will be done and not mine. The path to you is filled with trials and troubles, but you promised to see me through them to the end when I acknowledge you in all my ways. I love you. In Jesus’ name, Amen.

