Freely you’ve received, freely give.

Scripture:
Go and announce to them that the Kingdom of Heaven is near. Heal the sick, raise the dead, cure those with leprosy, and cast out demons. Give as freely as you have received! – Matthew 10:7-8

Observation:
Jesus was again teaching his disciples about the reality of life and how to deal with people. Part of that process included his giving them authority over the demonic realm and to heal every kind of disease and sickness. A portion of that charge included telling them to tell people that the Kingdom of Heaven is near and to heal sick people, raise dead people, and set demonic people free. His last words in this short passage also told the disciples to give freely as they had received. What did the receive? They received life, love, and liberty in Jesus.

Application:
Have you received freely from God? Has he healed you? Set you free? Delivered you? Given you blessing? He’s done all these things through the death and pain he suffered on the cross. We’ve been given grace by faith at no cost to us when you think about it. However, it does cost us everything. Oxymoronic you say? Well, yes and no. Yes in that something free cost everything, yet no in that you didn’t earn it or could buy it.

Jesus gave of himself to us freely by choice because, as God, he knew that we could never be fully reconciled to God because of our sins. He gave everything for us and doesn’t ask us to earn or buy his love/eternal life because it is impossible. That would reek of self-saving powers within each of us and would show that we need not rely upon the provision of the Creator, God the Father. Therefore, as Jesus gave his life and love freely for us, we in turn should give our lives for him in service to him and to our fellow man.

God teaches us that the more we give, the more we receive. The more we give out of what we receive, the more we receive. The law of giving is that to get more you must give more. We can’t out give God. There is no greater gift than love. Thus, let us love God with all heart, soul, mind and strength and our fellow man as ourselves. Those who try to hoard God’s love for themselves often find themselves outside the blessing of God. Don’t stop up the flow of God’s blessing by not giving freely of yourself to him and your neighbor.

Prayer:
Father, I have learned to adhere to the law of giving. I’ve never not known your blessing on my life, even though at times I didn’t realize that I was smack dab in the middle of it. As I’ve learned to give of myself more and more to you and to others, my life has become more blessed and full of joy. Help me to continue giving freely, as I have received freely. I don’t want to stop up the flow of the rivers flowing out of my belly. There is living water that bubbles up inside me because of you living in me via your Holy Spirit. Please see to completion the good work you’ve started in me until the day of Christ. Help me to extend your love and grace to all. In Jesus’ name, Amen.

