Are you extending grace and mercy to others, as God did to you?

Scripture:
Shouldn’t you have mercy on your fellow servant, just as I had mercy on you? – Matthew 18:33

Observation:
Jesus told the apostles a parable about a man who owed his king what we would say is millions of dollars. The king had decided to throw th man into prison, but he begged for mercy and asked for time to pay his debt. In a gracious moment, the king forgave the man’s debt and set him free. Then the man turned around and went to another person, who in today’s terms owed him thousands. The forgiven man took the man who owed him and threw him in prison. Other servants watching this happen went to the king and told him what happened. The king asked the man why he didn’t show mercy to the one who owed him when the king had freed him from a much greater debt. The king then threw this man into prison until his debt was settled.

Application:
If you are a believer and follower of Jesus, then you’ve been forgiven of the greatest debt you could ever incur – the price of Jesus dying on the cross for your sins. There isn’t enough money in any lifetime or combination of lifetimes for even one person to pay off their sin debt to God. Out of his loving grace, God decided to die in your place and pay the ultimate price for your sin and mine. We don’t deserve it, but he did it anyway because of his love for us. The next time someone does something to you that upsets, offends, or troubles you, take the time to take a deep breath and forgive them just as God forgave you in his grace. We are supposed to love others as ourselves much like we love God with all our being. Jesus told us that if we don’t forgive others, then God WON’T forgive our sins. Think about it. Jesus said it, not me.

Prayer:
Father, teach me to extend grace and mercy to all people as you’ve done for me. You pardoned me of my sin record and paid the full price for my redemption and salvation. Help me not to go off on people or exhibit an unloving, unforgiving, ungracious attitude to anyone no matter how terrible the thing they’ve done to  me. I want to reflect your love from inside me toward others, just as you’ve shown me. Fill me with your love and grace for others. Thank you. In Jesus’ name, Amen.

