A mark in the hand or the forehead.

Scripture:
This annual festival will be a visible sign to you, like a mark branded on your hand or your forehead. Let it remind you always to recite this teaching of the LORD, “With a strong hand, the LORD rescued you from Egypt.” – Exodus 13:9

Observation:
The LORD gave Israel these instructions of observing the Passover meal on the 14th day of the first month of Abib. He told the people that when they celebrate this feast they are to tell their children why they’re doing so. The feast was to serve as a visual reminder of the power of God’s might and how he delivered them from Egyptian oppression and slavery. The sign was so to be strong in their lives that it was as if God had branded it on their heads or hands.

Application:
As many times as I’ve read this passage, I’d never really paid attention to this hand/forehead reference. It immediately took me to the book of Revelation where we read of the mark of the beast that will be indelibly placed on the right hand or forehead of all who follow him. It never ceases to amaze me how Satan always tries to imitate and pervert what God creates. In Moses’ day, the sign was to remind the people of God’s saving grace and redemption power. In the future, Satan will use a similar, physical method punish and enslave people. Thus, I ask you, “Whose mark do you wear?” Does the saving grace of God dwell in you to the point that it’s like a brand seared into the skin of your hand or forehead and continually reminds you of God’s love for you? Or, do await the seal of the wicked one that will forever “seal” your fate for eternity? God gives you the opportunity now to receive the seal of his Spirit upon your life and thereby mark you forever as his own. The choice is yours.

Prayer:
Father, you’ve set your mark on me for all time. Your Spirit is the seal upon my heart, and I do desire to have your saving grace reside in my mind and heart to the point that it is like a seal on my hand or forehead. I know that such a “mark” identifies me as your own. It means that your love permeates my very being and overflows from within my belly like rivers of living water. Help me to spread the message of the saving grace of God to as many people as possible to rob hell of souls and prevent people from receiving the damning mark of the beast. As you lead, I follow. In Jesus’ name, Amen.

