Will you do all the LORD commands?

Scripture:
Then he took the Book of the Covenant and read it aloud to the people. Again, they all responded “We will do everything the LORD has commanded. We will obey.” – Exodus 24:7

Observation:
Moses had written down all the commands he’d been given by God. He went and had young men offer sacrifices to God and then read aloud to the people all that was written in the Book of the Covenant. The people responded by saying they would obey all that God had commanded. We would find out later that the people honored God with their lips, but their hearts were far from him.

Application:
Are we merely honoring God with our lips, as Isaiah would say during his days? Or, are we really honoring God from our hearts in praise, worship, and holy living? The Bible tells us to be holy as our God is holy. Jesus told us that God searches for those who worship him in Spirit and in Truth.

When asked what were the greatest commandments, Jesus replied that we are to love God with all our being and to love our neighbors as ourselves. Are we doing those things? Are we really? Do we love God by keeping his commandments out of love and respect for him? Do we prefer our neighbors before ourselves and thereby show his love and grace to them? Or do we practice pride and selfishness? Where are our hearts today? Should we not take inventory of our thoughts, words, and deeds to see if the are aligned with the Word and will of God?

Let us do all that God has commanded out of love for him not out of obligation or coercion. Where is your heart today?

Prayer:
Father, I’ve been taken an inventory of my heart lately to see where I stand in relation to your Word. I don’t measure up as I should. I ask for your forgiveness and grace and mercy: none of which I deserve. You love me, and I know that I love you. Help me to be holy as you are holy. Draw near to me, as I draw near to you. Allow our relationship to proceed to a more intimate level. Bring back within me the deep desire to bask in your glory and soak up your presence like a sponge. I desire to dwell in the secret place of the Most High and hide in the shadow of his wings. I love you, Daddy. Be my protector and friend. I love you. In Jesus’ name, Amen.

