Keep the light shining before God (and men).

Scripture:
Aaron and his sons must keep the lamps burning in the Lord’s presence all night. – 27:21b

Observation:
God commanded Moses to have the priests keep oil in the menorah inside the tabernacle burning all the time. The light of the menorah was to never extinguish. It’s light was to shine before God continually for all generations in Israel.

Application:
Again, I don’t try to create doctrine out of a single verse or part of one, and today is no exception. What I get out of this passage is the encouragement to keep my light shining before God and men. What light am I talking about here? I am talking about the light of Jesus, who dwells in me. Jesus told us to check and make sure that the light within us really is light. His words (NLT) were, But when your eye is bad, your whole body is filled with darkness. And if the light you think you have is actually darkness, how deep that darkness is! What light is filling you? Is it really the light of Jesus or the darkness of sin? Let us check the light within us and make sure that IT IS JESUS shining within us! Not ourselves and darkness. The Bible tells us we will be known by our fruits. Is the light reflecting (the fruit) in us God’s holiness or darkness?

Prayer:
Father, you told us in your word not to deceive ourselves, yet so many people do. They think that they have salvation and are doing great things for your kingdom but are really as lost as anyone who willingly rejects you. My heart cries before you for those people. There are even days where I have questioned whether the light within me was yours or darkness. The words of Jesus about how dark that light is make me shudder at times. Help me to know beyond the shadow of a doubt that your light shines within me and is seen by others around me. I want people to see you in me and not the person I have been or might be without you. I love you. In Jesus’ name, Amen.

