Standing out as one of God’s people.

Scripture:
Instruct all the skilled craftsmen whom I have filled with the spirit of wisdom. Have them make garments for Aaron that will distinguish him as a priest set apart for my service. – Exodus 28:3

Observation:
As God instructed Moses in the design of the tabernacle and the preparation of the priesthood, he told his servant to have the craftsmen selected to design the priestly garments to make clothing that would distinguish the high priest as a servant of God set apart for his service.

Application:
Much like the previous devotion from Exodus 27, this passage speaks about things that distinguish the believer from the world. Aaron’s priestly garments were designed to show people that he was different from the average person and called to be set apart for God’s service. How this applies to me is this: Does the fruit of the Spirit that is evident in my life along with my words, thoughts, and actions (my priestly garments when I am living for God) showing people that I am set apart for God’s service? Do I look and sound and act different from the world? What sort of testimony are my thoughts, words and actions showing others – God or me?

Prayer:
Father, help me to live a holy life before you out of love for you, so that others may see you in my life and that my life is an excellent testimony of what you do and will do and can do in your children’s lives. May others know by life that I am set apart for your service. That is my petition today. In Jesus’ name, Amen.

