Persecution comes with being sold out to Jesus.

Scripture:
Jesus replied, “and I assure you that everyone who has given up house or brothers or sisters or mother or father or children or property, for my sake and for the Good News, will receive now in return a hundred times as many houses, brothers, sisters, mothers, children, and property—along with persecution. And in the world to come that person will have eternal life. – Mark 10:29-30

Observation:
Jesus had been approached by a wealthy young man, who wanted to know how to inherit eternal life. Jesus told him to keep the commandments, but he replied that he’d done that since childhood. Then Jesus told him to do the one thing he’d not done – sell all he had and give it to the poor. Jesus knew that the young man loved his possessions more than he did God. Then the disciples noted that they’d given up everything for Jesus and his kingdom, and he replied that those who give up all for his kingdom in this life will receive it all back and more in this age. However, in the next life, they’ll have eternal life.

Application:
So often I have read this passage and glazed over the part that says that those who give it all up for Jesus in this life will receive 100 times that amount again in this life, BUT they will also receive PERSECUTION. Is this the real reason why so many Christians don’t give it all up to Him? Many people claim to be sold out to Christ, but are they really? Are they reluctant to turn it all over to God because they know that persecution will come in return? OR, is it because they enjoy the creature comforts more than they love God, as did the rich young man?!? Could it be an either/or situation or a combination thereof? All I know is that I want to be completely sold out to Christ whether or not I get any THING in return or not. Bring on the persecution if it means doing so for my Lord!

Prayer:
Father, I understand now the full extent of what it means to be sold out to you completely. Has it been the case with me that I didn’t release all of me and my things to you because of my fear of persecution? Please forgive me LORD. I am not afraid of the promised persecution that will come for giving up everything for your sake. I am not worried about the 100-fold return on things in this life. I would rather see eternal treasure laid up in heaven – the souls of those that I lead to you! Help me to achieve this mission. In Jesus’ name, Amen.

