Your actions do affect others, whether you know it or not.

Scripture:
If the man with the discharge spits on anyone who is clean, they must wash their clothes and bathe with water, and they will be unclean till evening. – Leviticus 15:8

Observation:
Moses received a litany of regulations from God, which dealt with how to handle infestations of mold and mildew as well as infectious diseases like boils and even leprosy. Among these instructions were guidelines that dealt with the people, who were made unclean by these things. God told Moses that if a person who was unclean even spat upon someone ceremonially clean, the “clean” person would be made unclean by the actions of the “unclean” person.

Application:
This statement from God tells me that my actions do indeed have repercussions not only on me but those around me, too. Many people think that there thoughts, words, and actions only affect them. Well, according to God, Himself, that isn’t so. Just the spit of an unclean man could make his clean neighbor guilty of being unclean, even though the clean person did nothing to violate himself and be unclean. This passage sent me a strong message to examine my behavior and ensure that my thoughts, words, and actions are conforming to God’s standards and not defiling me and others. Jesus taught us that it’s not what goes in our mouths (food or drink) that defiles but what comes out (words). Thus, your words can have a negative impact upon an innocent person. You do affect the lives of others with your witness and testimony. Is your testimony doing wonders for the kingdom of God or setting it back by insulting and offending others? God have mercy on us.

Prayer:
Father, may my words, thoughts, and deeds bring only glory to your name and kingdom and cause others to desire to enter into the family. I don’t cause people to be “unclean” anymore with my words or actions because Jesus fulfilled the ceremonial Law requirements once and for all. However, I can cause people to stumble if I am not careful with my conduct. Help me to a light to the lost of this world. Allow me to be a beacon for lost souls wandering the seas of life trying to find a safe harbor from the cares and traps of this sinful world. May they encounter the Lamb of God when they meet me. May they see and experience Jesus through me. I want to be a conduit of grace and mercy as your Spirit leads me. In Jesus’ name, Amen.

