Reinforcement on lesson of “Obedience brings blessing”

Scripture:
If you follow my decrees and are careful to obey my commands,  I will send you the seasonal rains. – Leviticus 26:3-4a

Observation:
As we end the book of Leviticus, we read of the commands God gave to Israel about obeying his commands. Now, in that era under the Mosaic Law, people who disobeyed God’s Law were dealt with severe punishment immediately. God didn’t stand for their rebellion and idolatrous behavior. So, as he started to lead them toward their promised ancestral homeland, he warned them to obey all the Law he’d given them or suffer the consequences. However, he also told them that obeying his Law would bring them blessing.

Application:
Again, I want to preface that I am not advocating living under the Law, for the person doing so will reap the consequences thereof. However, I am not saying that we are not to obey God’s commands either. Why? Because there is blessing in obeying God’s commandments. Jesus said that if you love him, you will obey his commandments. What is that command? Jesus said, “Love one another, even as I have loved you.” Therefore, go love people as Jesus loves you and see if the LORD won’t pour out his blessing on you. Treat people unfairly, don’t extend mercy and grace, and then walk proudly before God and see the destruction that befalls you because your conduct. There is a blessing that comes from obeying God. His precepts and word are true and eternal. He doesn’t change. You can take his word as life, which it is.

Prayer:
Father, I have learned the lesson, at least in my head, that obedience brings blessing. I don’t want to live under the Law, for doing so brings death. However, your Spirit bring life. Help me to obey your command to love you with all that I am and to love others as I do myself. May your blessing pour out on me, as I attempt to live life as you desire and obey your word. In Jesus’ name, Amen.

