They’re rejecting God, not you.

Scripture:
Anyone who accepts your message is also accepting me. And anyone who rejects you is rejecting me. And anyone who rejects me is rejecting God, who sent me. – Luke 10:16

Observation:
Jesus chose and commissioned 72 of his disciples to travel to the towns that he planned on visiting in the near future of that time. He instructed them on what to take with them and what to do while they were out. Among his instructions was the warning that anyone who rejected their message wasn’t rejecting them but actually rejected God ultimately.

Application:
Jesus sends out all believers as witnesses in this cruel world. Not everyone that comes in contact with us will receive the message of the Good News with joy or gratitude toward God. Instead, they become angry and refuse the truth of the Son of God and ultimately reject God’s message and gift of eternal life through Jesus. Therefore, we need to ensure that the message we share with others truly is the Good News of Jesus. When people do reject us, we should not become distraught or down about it. It may discourage us for a moment because of the fact that someone refused God’s love; however, we must not let it deter us from continuing to seek and save the lost, as Jesus did.

Prayer:
Father, help me not to become dejected when someone refuses to hear the Good News of your love and grace. My hearts breaks because of their refusal of your love gift, but I mustn’t allow myself to get down over the issue. I have to put the situation into your hands and march on. There are many others out there desperately seeking the truth of your love. Lead me to them that they may hear the truth and come into the family of God. In Jesus’ name, Amen.

