Do you have a different attitude?

Scripture:
 But my servant Caleb has a different attitude than the others have. He has remained loyal to me, so I will bring him into the land he explored. – Numbers 14:24a

Observation:
Moses sent out 12 spies to recon the land of Canaan. When they returned, 10 of the 12 gave a negative report while Joshua and Caleb countered that argument and said the people could take the land. After the people cried out against Moses and Aaron, God spoke and told Moses that the people would wander through the desert for 40 years as a result of their complaining – one day for every day the spies reconned Canaan. God said that Caleb has a different attitude than the other 10 spies and the community. Because of his loyalty to God, God blessed him with being able to enter the Promised Land (along with Joshua) unlike the rest of the community over the age of 20.

Application:
I want to have an attitude different from others. I want to remain and am loyal to the God of heaven. I will serve God the Father, Son, and Spirit all the rest of my days! I will let no one tell me that I will not make it to the Promised Land of heaven. There has even been an attack on my character and person lately stating that some horrible things of me, all of which were untrue. It’s amazing how people view things through their own perspective and colored lenses rather than seek the truth of God about the matter. I’ve done some things in the past that I’m not proud of and wished I had never done, but I do have a different spirit and attitude than I used to have. I seek to save the lost and convert as many sinners over to Jesus the Messiah as possible.

My life work is to do all that God has commissioned me to do regardless of what others think or may say. Jesus forgave me of my past, and, thankfully, it is behind me. I might be like Caleb was in that point in time, not arrived yet in the Promised Land, and I will be the first to admit that I am not perfected – yet. I give to you the words of the apostle Paul to the Phillipians,  I don’t mean to say that I have already achieved these things or that I have already reached perfection. But I press on to possess that perfection for which Christ Jesus first possessed me. No, dear brothers and sisters, I have not achieved it, but I focus on this one thing: Forgetting the past and looking forward to what lies ahead, I press on to reach the end of the race and receive the heavenly prize for which God, through Christ Jesus, is calling us.

The enemy of my soul wants me to believe that I will not make to the Promised Land of heaven because of my past. He expects me to see the so-called GIANTS of this life standing in front of me and to cower at their presence. Those giants aren’t as big as the enemy likes us to think. The enemy will even use those we’ve known to come against us in like manner, but I’m here to tell you that Jesus has given us all power over the enemy. There is no enemy that our God cannot conquer! Let God arise, and his enemies be scattered! We can make it to heaven through the salvation Jesus purchased on the cross. It comes to us by grace through faith! It’s nothing that we’ve done, bought or earned. Jesus gave us access to the Father. I plan on possessing the mansion awaiting me in my Father’s house, and no demon, no person, or any other thing is going to separate me from the love of my Father! I will step in my Lord’s rest one day and hear, Well done, good and faithful, regardless of what anyone else thinks or says.

Prayer:
Father, I’d like to take this time to forgive any and all people who would attack me and say that I am not your child or am something other than your servant. I serve you out of the love of my heart and the desire to see your kingdom expanded for your glory. I have no ulterior motives when it comes to serving you. I don’t seek my own vain glory because you don’t share your glory with anyone. I don’t seek to deceive anyone about the truth of your gospel. I operate humbly in the gifts you’ve given me for your kingdom and glory and not for personal gain or satisfaction. I see the glory of heaven awaiting those who’ve accepted your love gift of grace through faith by the work of the cross. I will lead all souls you allow me to encounter, who respond to your bidding and heed the call of salvation. I pray that I do have a different attitude from the ones who are naysayers and those who teach people real false doctrine. I know that those who have a personal, intimate relationship with you will stand on the shores of glory in your presence. May your will be done and not mine. In Jesus’ name, Amen.

