Following orders.

Scripture:
Speak to that rock before their eyes and it will pour out its water. You will bring water out of the rock for the community so they and their livestock can drink. – Numbers 20:8b

Observation:
The Hebrews complained to Moses and Aaron that there was no water to drink again for the second time. They were really complaining against God, not these two brothers. The LORD heard their grumbling and ordered Moses and Aaron to gather the people before the rock and speak to it. When they were to speak to the rock, it would flow forth with water for the people to drink. Moses, in his fury over the people’s constant complaining, struck the rock twice instead of speaking to it. He and Aaron disobeyed God and were denied entry into the Promised Land and died in the wilderness.

Application:
When God gives us a command, we need to do exactly what, when, where, how, and why God tells us to do something. When we take matters into our hands, we will suffer the consequences of our actions. Yes, God did bring forth water out of the rock to bless the people because he loved them. However, Moses and Aaron allowed their emotions to rule them at the moment they should have operated in faith by speaking to a lifeless rock to bring forth life-giving water. Their emotions cost them entry into God’s inheritance in this life. What are you doing that is preventing you from walking and living in God’s blessing? He may bring about a blessing for others despite your rebellion, but what about your blessing? Do what God says and walk in blessing. Again, obedience brings blessing; God’s ways don’t change.

Prayer:
Father, what am I doing that is not specifically ordered of you? I don’t want to do deviate from your plan for my life and for the things you’d have me do for others. I know that at this season in my life my mission is to fulfill my part in the completion of the Great Commission. I will be out and about ministering to the lost and seeking them out to make them into disciples and train them to do likewise. If there is more for me to do, please tell me. For here am I, LORD, your servant awaits his orders. In Jesus’ name, Amen.

