Doing exactly what God says to do.

Scripture:
But Balaam answered them, “Even if Balak gave me all the silver and gold in his palace, I could not do anything great or small to go beyond the command of the Lord my God.
 – Numbers 22:18

Observation:
Balak was a king of Gentiles who saw the Hebrews coming near his city kingdom and wanted to curse the people of Israel because he’d heard of the power of God going before them. He even noted that the people were like grasshoppers covering the land and licking up everything in their path. He feared being destroyed by God’s people, so he sent for a medium to bring a curse upon these people. He sent for Balaam, a known medium who could hear from God. Balak tried to convince him to curse these Hebrews, but God told him not to do so because he’d blessed Israel. Thus, Balaam responded that he couldn’t curse them even if Balak gave him  his palace full of precious metals.

Application:
Despite the fact that Balaam was not really a godly man even though God spoke to him, Balaam understood a very important principle. He could not go against the word of the LORD. Many times we hear from God, who tells us to do this and to do that, but often times we try to “help” God along in his mission by doing more (or sometimes less) than he directs. When we go against the will of God, we find ourselves in trying times and then wonder how and why we got in that mess in the first place or try to blame God for our ills. We need to learn the truth of Balaam’s statement above, “I could not do anything…to go beyond the command of the LORD my God.”

Prayer:
Father, why do we think we know more than you do? Why do people try to outsmart and out maneuver you, the omniscient One! Help me, dear LORD, to do nothing more than what you’ve told me to do. Let me not be guilty of leading the hand of God but rather be one who supports the hand of God by doing exactly what you’ve assigned to me. Thank you for choosing me to be yours and to be your servant. I am unworthy servant doing my duty and will do what orders entail. In Jesus’ name, Amen.

