The price of disobedience.

Scripture:
…for when the community rebelled at the waters in the Desert of Zin, both of you disobeyed my command to honor me as holy before their eyes.” (These were the waters of MeribahKadesh, in the Desert of Zin.) – Numbers 27:14

Observation:
When the Hebrews had come to the edge of the Jordan River across from Jericho, the LORD told Moses to ascend the heights of the nearby mountains. There the LORD showed him all the land that the Hebrews would inherit; however, God reminded him that he’d die there because he and Aaron had disobeyed his command to honor God as holy by speaking to the rock rather than striking it with his staff.

Application:
So many times we read throughout the Bible and learn the lesson that obedience brings blessing. Although Moses never entered into the Promised Land of Canaan, we know from later accounts that he spends his days with the LORD. He received the same blessing of Abraham that we will receive, eternal life with God through the blood of Jesus when become his children. However, Moses lost an immediate blessing in this life when he disobeyed God’s command. It’s no different than when our evil parents promise us a reward for doing something, but we fail to receive it because of our disobedience. Moses received a negative reinforcement for his wrongdoing. God does the same with us. He may promise us something in this life, but our disobedience can cause that blessing to be withheld. Obedience brings blessing; there is no substitute.

Prayer:
Father, help me to see the error of my ways. There have been those blessings promised to me by you that have been withheld from me because of my wrongdoing. I admit my faults and have received your forgiveness in those situations. I’ve learned to listen to you and do as you say. Why? Because I love you first and foremost and do want to have your blessing in my life. I don’t want or desire to rebel against you in front of others or even when I’m alone. I want to honor you as holy all the time. May my life be a living memorial to your holiness. In Jesus’ name, Amen.

