A caution against vows.

Scripture:
When a man makes a vow to the Lord or takes an oath to obligate himself by a pledge, he must not break his word but must do everything he said. – Numbers 30:2

Observation:
As part of the Law given to the Hebrews, God told Moses to instruct the people concerning making vows. The instruction simply put was that if you open your mouth, don’t insert foot. Do all that you promised, nay vowed, to do. God took vows seriously and would hold the one swearing the oath responsible for its completion. God would not hold a vow breaker innocent.

Application:
Because of the seriousness that God gives to vows, Jesus would later teach us to not make vows because we aren’t always within our power to fulfill them. Rather than be guilty of disobedience before God for not fulfilling a vow, it’s best not to even make one. Why? Because we cannot change the color of one hair, all that is created is God’s possession, and we don’t always forsee the consequence of our vows when left unfulfilled. If however, you do make a vow before God, he will hold you to it. If for some reason you fail to complete it, there is still God’s grace, mercy, and forgiveness for that sin. The best thing is to just do exactly what God tells us to do rather than making a vow we may not fulfill. Honor God as holy and just do what he commands instead.

Prayer:
Father, I refuse to make a vow because I know that I don’t have the power within myself to keep it. I would rather just do what you’ve commanded me to do and receive the blessing from being obedient to you than to have sinned against you by making a vow not fulfilling it. I prefer to live by faith and putting all of my trust in you. You are the only One who doesn’t violate his word or his promises. I have seen too much to not know that you are the faithful God and will do all you’ve said. You are not a man that you should lie. Thank you for being the source of my provision. I seek you first and allow you to supply my need. In Jesus’ name, Amen.

