Learning humility.

Scripture:
When Jesus saw that they were ready to force him to be their king, he slipped away into the hills by himself. – John 6:15

Observation:
Jesus had fed the 5,000 men and their families from a boy’s lunch of 5 loaves and two fish. The apostles even collected 12 baskets of spare food from the people after they had eaten their fill. Once the people saw the miracle, they decided they wanted to make Jesus their king. His response was to steal away from the crowd and head out to a solitary place to be alone.

Application:
Having the benefit of situational irony, we know from the accounts in the Bible that Jesus will not ascend the throne of his father David until the end of this age. We do know that Jesusis the King of kings and Lord of lords. He has supremacy over all creation. However, what I see in Jesus’ actions in this case is that he wanted to avoid being made king, but he also didnot want to bask in the limelight. He was not seeking his own glory. He knew that he was hereon the earth to do the will of his Father, God, in heaven.

For a good portion of my life, I spent a great deal of time basking in my own vanity and seeking the approval of others. Every now and then I catch myself letting people know what job ortask has been done while at work. I realize that even this small action is my attempt to seekapproval – to get an “atta boy” occasionally. As nice as it is to be honored by others, I have to learn to let people honor me as they choose, when they choose, how they choose.

I want to learn to be humble like Jesus was and is. Although he was King and knew that he would be king of Israel one day, he couldn’t allow them to rush things ahead of God’s timing. Hehad to stay humble. He could’ve accepted their praise and allowed them to exalt him to the elevated position he would one day hold. Instead he avoided the entire situation. I want to learn how to avoid being egotistical or egocentric. I want to serve my King as his humble, unworthy servant doing his duty out of love for his King and Father.

Prayer:
Father, how do I love justice, do mercy, and walk humbly before you? Teach me to bow my head and kneel before you and not arise until you lift me up. For you said that anyone who exalts himself will be humbled, and anyone who humbles himself will be exalted. You give grace to the humble and resist the proud. Daddy, I just want to be your humble servant and child and love you by serving you and others. In Jesus’ name, Amen.

