Are you blind, or do you see?

Scripture:
Then Jesus told him, “I entered this world to render judgment—to give sight to the blind and to show those who think they see that they are blind.” – John 9:39

Observation:
Jesus healed a blind man by spitting on the ground and making mud, which he pasted over the man’s eyes. He told the man to wash off in the Pool of Siloam. He did so and could see. The once blind man went and told it to the religious leaders, who despised Jesus for doing this on the Sabbath. Jesus later found the once blind man at the temple and asked him if he believed in the One who healed him. He replied that he did. Jesus went on to say that part of why he came to earth was to give sight to the blind and show others how blind they really are.

Application:
Jesus’ words should cause us to pause and think about our spiritual eyesight. He said he came to give sight to the blind while showing others who thought they could see how blind they really are. When some religious elite asked him if they were blind, he told them that their claim to being able “to see” spiritually actually showed they were blind to the truth of God’s Word. Do you claim to see and know God’s truths but don’t walk in them? Then you might need to go see the Great Physician and allow him to restore your sight. If you don’t know the truth of God’s Word and are blind but want ot see, go see the Great Physician and allow him to restore your sight. There are many people who think the light in their eyes in light, but they really see only darkness. Jesus said that kind of “light,” which is really darkness, is darkness indeed! What type of light is in your eyes? Do you see, or are you blind?

Prayer:
Father, open my eyes to the truth of Jesus, the whole truth of Jesus, and nothing but the truth of Jesus! I don’t want any light in my eyes to be anything but your light. I walked in darkness for a long time not even realizing that the light in my eyes was darkness! I thought I had walked in the light of Christ, but an introspection of my heart and actions revealed a different truth. How shocking and awakening was that moment!! LORD, I now humbly ask for you to be the lamp unto my feet and the light unto my path. I acknowledge in you all my ways: the good, the bad, and the indifferent. Please guide and order my steps. Thank you, In Jesus’ name, Amen.

