Having a healthy fear/respect for God.

Scripture:
Oh, that they would always have hearts like this, that they might fear me and obey all my commands! If they did, they and their descendants would prosper forever. – Deuteronomy 5:29

Observation:
Moses recounted Israel’s history with the children of those who’d come out of Egypt in order that they may know and be reminded of the covenant God established with them and how they were to live their lives. In that retelling, he told them of the time at Mt. Sinai how God had spoken to them audibly. Their parents feared God because of his awesomeness in speaking to them from the fiery manifestation of his presence on the peak of Mt. Sinai. God told Moses, as he served as the intermediary between God and the people at that time, that He wished all the people would have such fear of Him. Why? Because if they did, they would obey his commands and prosper forever.

Application:
Do you want to know how to truly prosper in this life? Do as God told Moses about the Hebrews – develop a reverent fear of the LORD. No, you don’t have to go around fearing death because you make a mistake, but truly humble yourself under the mighty hand of God and learn to obey him. We obey God not out of obligation to the Mosaic Law, but we do so out of our love for God. Jesus told us to love him by keeping his commandments. What were they? It was simply to love others as he has loved us. How do we do that? We sacrifice our personal wants and desires for his and for the betterment of others. We simply lay down our lives for others as he did for us. Love God with all your heart, soul, mind, and strength. Love your neighbors as yourself. It really is that simple.

Prayer:
Father, today I ask for your help in teaching me how to truly love you with all that I am and to love my neighbor as I love myself. I don’t want to be stingy, selfish, proud, arrogant, or self-centered. I want my life and my heart to be God-centered with external focus on helping and reaching others with the Good News of Jesus. Help me to die to self today and to take on the mind and heart of  the Anointed One, Jesus. Help me to be more like you. I love you, Dad. In Jesus’ name, Amen.

