Serve the LORD your God and him alone.

Scripture:
Serve only the Lord your God and fear him alone. Obey his commands, listen to his voice, and cling to him. – Deuteronomy 13:4

Observation:
Moses explained to the people about the deception of false prophets. He said that if someone prophesies or dreams, which comes to pass, and then suggests you go follow another god-that-is-not-God, then that person was to be killed and have no mercy on that one. Right after that statement, he told them to serve no other god but the LORD their God. They were to fear him alone. They were to obey his commands, listen to him, and cling to him.

Application:
This verse is the very one that Jesus used against satan when he tempted him in the wilderness. Jesus knew the strength of trusting in God and believing his Word. The devil offered Jesus all the power that had been given to him when Adam sinned and relinquished his rule over the earth to the devil. Jesus saw all the glory and power that had been and still belongs to the devil. However, Jesus knew more than satan and knew what lay ahead for Him in the future when He will rule the earth as King of kings and Lord of lords. Jesus showed us the beauty of Moses’ words: serve only God! To do so we must obey his commands, listen to his Spirit, and cling to him. Why? Because God knows it all, God has the only truth in the universe, and God is the only one who can save us! Thus, when someone or something tries to set itself up as an idol in your life, tear it down. Crush it. Don’t allow the idol to steer you away from serving the LORD your God.

Prayer:
Father, there is only one God! You, God, are God! I will serve no other but Jehovah, the King of kings and the Lord of lords. You alone can save me. You are my provision. I put all my trust and faith into the living God. O magnificent One, allow me to serve you in humility and with great pleasure. May my faith bring you pleasure, as your word declares. Inhabit my praises of you! Dwell in this temple not made with human hands. I give my all to you. I will allow no idol to sway me from you. I will allow no one to entice me to serve any god but Jehovah! In Jesus’ name, Amen.

