The dangers of excess.

Scripture:
The king must not take many wives for himself, because they will turn his heart away from the Lord. And he must not accumulate large amounts of wealth in silver and gold for himself. – Deuteronomy 17:17

Observation:
Moses prophesied that one day that Israel might decide to appoint a king over themselves like the nations around them in Canaan instead of having God be their King. This prophecy would later come true through the appointment of Saul. There were some specific guidelines that God laid out through Moses on the behavior of the king. Two things the kings were to never do was take more than one wife and hoard precious metals. These two events in the life of a king would cause the king’s heart to be drawn away to other gods (i.e., Solomon) and to become arrogant and self-reliant rather than trust in God’s provision (i.e., Asa).

Application:
A wife and plentiful resources are not bad things. In fact the Bible tells us that he who finds a wife finds a good thing. The Bible tells us also that the wealth of the wicked is laid up for the righteous. Thus, these things are not evil in and of themselves. Also, there are many other things in life that are not evil in themselves, but too much of even a good thing can become evil. The inherent problem with excess, whether in money and resources or in wives, is that the one holding onto such abundance begins to turn one’s heart away from trusting in God for their need. They become proud and arrogant and say to oneself, “I can do it all on my own. I don’t need anyone.” Even Jesus warned us that it’s easier for a camel to go through the needle’s eye than for a rich person to enter heaven. We must always learn to be humble before our God and trust in him to provide for our need. To worry about our need being met is really sin. Think about it. It smacks of unbelief because God told us himself to seek his kingdom and his righteousness first, which would be followed by his provision of the necessities of life: food, clothing, shelter.

Prayer:
Father, thank you for giving me all that I have in my life. I may not be among the princes of my nation anymore, but I do know that all that I have and am able to enjoy is because of your blessing and provision. I have learned and continue to learn to put all my trust in you and rely solely upon you. I know what it is to have plenty, and I know what it is to have little. However, I have more than I will ever need because you are YHWH Yireh – the LORD God my Provider! I will lean on you and trust in you. Thank you!! I love YOU!!! In Jesus’ name, Amen.

