Standing in God’s way???

Scripture:
And since God gave these Gentiles the same gift he gave us when we believed in the Lord Jesus Christ, who was I to stand in God’s way? – Acts 11:17

Observation:
Peter had returned to Jerusalem after having spent time with Cornelius the centurion, whose entire household was saved and filled with the Holy Spirit through baptism of fire. The Jews in the city criticized Pete for chilling with the Gentiles, who were still considered unclean and outside the promises of Abraham in the minds of most Jews. Then Pete spoke up and stated that since the Gentiles received the same gift they had on Pentecost, then God must have accepted them into his family too. Therefore, he thought, who was he to stand in God’s way of fulfilling Abe’s promise of blessing all nations through Jesus.

Application:
We all need to learn what Pete did. When God truly moves, we need to get on board or get out of the way. There is a move of God going on around the world. He is cleaning house of false believers and making a way for new, true converts to come into the kingdom. The sad truth is that the Bible clearly states that the vast majority of the human population WILL NOT go to heaven. There will be a great number of people from across the ages spending eternity with God, but most people will die physically but spend an eternity in torment in where their bodies will burn but not die and be eaten by subterranean worms but not die. Are you about your Father’s business of sharing the Good News of Jesus and making converts into disciples? OR, are you just riding the pine on the sidelines and standing in God’s way? The choice is yours to make.

Prayer:
Father, I don’t ever want to be in your way. I want to be working on whatever assignment you have presented to me to fulfill. The souls are many, and the laborers are few. Here, I am Lord. Use me as you see fit. Wherever and however you want me to serve you is the order of the day. I can see your hand at work in the world today. I know that you are combing the flocks around the world and are thinning out the goats from the sheep. I am here for your good pleasure, Lord. May I please you in all I do. In Jesus’ name, Amen.

