Who knows that you’re of the Most High God?

Scripture:
She followed Paul and the rest of us, shouting, “These men are servants of the Most High God, and they have come to tell you how to be saved.” – Acts 16:17

Observation:
Luke recorded that on one trip Paul had been followed daily by a young lady, who was a seer for men of a goddess of Greece. She would go around telling everyone in public view that Paul and Silas were men of the most high God sent to tell the people how to be saved from their sins.

Application:
This lady told who Paul and Silas were, but she became a real annoyance to their work and had to be silenced by a miracle from God. The fascinating point is that even the demon that possessed her knew who Paul and Silas were – men of the Most High God! Paul and Silas had not gone around boasting in themselves as to who they were. If we remember from other accounts there were seven sons of Sceva who tried to cast out demons in the name of Jesus, whom Paul preached. They found out the hard way that they just couldn’t mimic God’s servants without being one of God’s servants. The demon, which they tried to exorcise, jumped on them and beat them up pretty bad. The demon told them that he knew of Jesus and knew of Paul, but he didn’t know who the seven were. Thus, I ask you, “Does the devil and his minions know who you are? Do they know you to be servants of the Most High God? Are your wreaking such havoc on the devil’s playground that he can call you out by name, as he did the apostles?”

Prayer:
Father, we know that I am your servant; however, the question remains, “Does satan’s hoards know who I am in you?” Help me to walk in the power of your Spirit and to follow him and not my flesh. I want people to know you live in me. My thoughts, actions, and words don’t always reflect the fact that you live in me, yet I want that situation to change. Help me to be ever cognizant of what I think, say, and do. IF any of those don’t reflect your Spirit living in me, please speak to me immediately and urge me to stop what I am doing and change course. I want all that I do to do nothing but bring you glory, honor, and praise. I’m not asking any of this for my vain purposes but only to have others see and hear of my witness concerning you. May the Most High God be known as my Master. May people say of me that they know I’m your servant sent to tell them how to be saved, as she did of Paul and Silas. In Jesus’ name, Amen.

