The evidence against you.

Scripture:
These men cannot prove the things they accuse me of doing. – Acs 24:13

Observation:
Paul stood trial before the Roman proconsul Felix in Ceasarea. In his apology, Paul stated that he was on trial for believing in the resurrection of the righteous and unrighteous. Many of the Sanhedrin had come to the city to bring charges against Paul for violating the Mosaic Law; however, the charges they submitted could not be proven against Paul. They merely fabricated charges to impose their will on him for preaching in the name of Jesus and the Way (Christianity).

Application:
Although the Jews couldn’t prove their charges against Paul, he was guilty. He was guilty of living for his God and honoring him even when in custody. Many people have often quipped with the statement, “If they were to bring charges against you being a Christian, then would there be enough evidence to convict you?” This passage centering on Paul’s defense got to me and made me take that cliche to heart and examine the evidence of my life. First, am I doing like John the baptist said – producing fruit worthy of repentance? Second, am I producing fruit at all?

Jesus said that any branch that doesn’t produce fruit WILL BE cut off and thrown into the fire. Those are some harsh words that many so-called Christians don’t like to hear because it means that people confessing to be a disciple of Jesus but don’t ever bear fruit will be cut off from God’s people. Ouch!! Well, I have determined in my spirit and soul that I will have enough evidence presented against me to convict me of being my Master’s servant and my Father’s child.

That evidence consists of my receiving God’s grace by faith from believing that God raised Jesus from the dead and confessing that Jesus IS my Lord, of my public confession faith by baptism in water, and loving God with all my heart and soul in obedience to him, as well as loving my neighbor as myself. What evidence is there against you?

Prayer:
Father, I know that there doesn’t have to be a trial to prove my love for you. You said that if I love you, I would keep your commandments. I strive daily to keep your word and love you with all my heart and soul. There is no one or nothing more important in my life than you, Sir. When the accuser of the brethren, satan, comes before you and brings his case against me, I know that Jesus defends me and shows that he paid the price for my sins. He pardoned me. However, when the world tries to pin the charge of Christian on me, I want the evidence to stack up to the heavens, so that your name may be glorified in all that I’ve done, do, and will do. May your name be praised around the world. May your people suffer for the cause of the kingdom and count it all joy. In Jesus’ name, Amen.

