Being led of the LORD.

Scripture:
Look, the Ark of the Covenant, which belongs to the Lord of the whole earth, will lead you across the Jordan River! – Joshua 3:11

Observation:
The nation of Israel assembled itself on the eastern shore of the Jordan River per God’s instruction. Then Joshua and the elders of Israel prepared the people to cross over the river to inherit the land God had promised to their ancestors 400 years prior. God told Joshua to inform the people that the Ark of the Covenant would precede them into the Promised Land. In fact it would be the LORD himself leading Israel into their promised ancestral homeland. Wherever the Ark was there was the presence of the LORD! He would be their guide.

Application:
People nowadays just don’t get it in this life. They are always looking to a man to lead them here and tell them this or that rather than relying upon the LORD to lead them and guide by his Spirit, which he promised to us through his Son, Jesus. The truth is, as Paul said, that we are the temple of the Spirit of God. We are temples not made with human hands but by the hands of God. Thus, if the Ark in the OT was where God’s presence dwelt, then doesn’t it make sense that we are the modern Arks of the New Covenant (we are his living temples)? You don’t have to go far to find the Giver of Life if he is your Lord and Savior. He is with you wherever you go. He lives in you!! Don’t you get it? IF you will let him, God will lead you and guide you into all truth. He will lead you across the spiritual, emotional, and soulful Jordan Rivers of your life. No barrier can stand before you if you allow God to lead you. He will show you the way through the obstacles of life and eventually lead you into the Promised Land of heaven. Trust him. Follow him. Love him.

Prayer:
Father, why is that people like me have such a hard time following you at times? Is it because we are too self-sufficient in our minds that we no longer feel the need to rely upon you? Is it because we are proud and arrogant? Is it because we tend to be selfish? Is it because we are rebellious? Dad, I just want to be humble, meek, and lowly like my Lord Jesus the Anointed One. There is a Jordan River in my life separating me from stepping into the Promised Land that you’ve shown me. I yield to you and ask you to be my guide and teacher. Show me the path that leads to life and you. It is difficult as Jesus said, but I know that it leads to you. Help me to get through this situation to which I refer. Please take my hand and lead. I know that you will take me through the “water” on dry ground, as long as I keep faith in you. Thank you, kind Sir. In Jesus’ name, Amen.

