It can be good to be “clingy.”

Scripture:
 Rather, cling tightly to the Lord your God as you have done until now. – Joshua 23:8

Observation:
Nearing his death, Joshua spoke to his people about living in the land God had given them. He warned them not to serve the gods of the people displaced from their land. He spoke to them about being faithful to the one, true God, who had delivered them out of Egypt, conquered Canaan, and blessed them when others tried to curse them. Joshua reminded the people to love the LORD and to cling to him and not let go.

Application:
Have you ever felt like letting go of God because you didn’t think he was there or heard you or cared any longer for you? Many people have. I admit that I have had that dumb thought. Today’s passage reminds me of the times others have told me to hang on to Jesus and the cross and never let go! Why? Because there is salvation in none other than Jesus, the Son of God and God the Son. He paid a huge price to redeem me and reconcile me to himself, and for you too. Therefore, why would we want to let go of the only One who could, can, and did save us? To do so would be sheer folly and to the one’s own detriment!! If you have listened to the lies of the enemy, satan, that God has given up on you, then know this. God has never given up on you. He loves you more than you’ll ever love him. He desires us more than we desire him. Stay true to the One who loves you and gave himself for you. No one else can take care of you.

Prayer:
Father, thank you for reminding me of the necessity and privilege of loving and serving you. No one can do for me what you’ve already done, are doing, and will continue to do. I am so blessed to be able to love you, serve you, and be with you! When I read this translation’s use of the word “cling.” I was reminded of how clingy food wrap is when used to cover a dish. I want to stick to you like that food wrap and stay connected to the source of Life. Thank you for saving me and giving me eternal life to be spent with you. I love you, Dad! In Jesus’ name, Amen.

