Want to find life peace?

Scripture:
So letting your sinful nature control mind leads to death, but letting the Spirit control your mind leads to life and peace. – Romans 8:6

Observation:
Paul continues with his discussion on living according to God’s ways and not sin. He tells us that the flesh will lead to death while living by the Spirit brings life. There is a way to find peace in this life but also a way to find real life in Christ and that is through obedience to the Spirit of God.

Application:
Are you tired of not having any peace in your life? Well, the apostle Paul tells us the true way to find. He says that by letting the Holy Spirit control our minds, we can find life and peace. If you are constantly thinking on the things of this world: money, things, pleasures, etc., then you are leading yourself down a path that leads to death. Not just physical death but spiritual death – an eternal separation from  God. Jesus teaches us to seek first God’s kingdom and his righteousness (above all else). Why? Because God will then supply the basic necessities of life. We don’t have to live a life consumed with worries about what we will eat, wear, or drink or even where to live IF we trust in God and seek him out above all else. He loves us enough to provide everything we need. Didn’t he say that he would supply all our need through Jesus? So why then are you letting your mind be controlled by sinful man? Put your eyes on Christ and let his Spirit control your mind. How? By renewing your mind daily through the word of God. Read the Bible. Pray to God. Live out what he tells us.

Prayer:
Father, most gracious King and Lord, thank you for being you. May your praises be sung from every mountain top! You are my supplier and my redeemer. I yield my life to you and thank you for all that you’ve done for me. I’ve lived too much of my life with it being controlled by my sinful nature and heading down the path that leads to death. I turn around on the street of repentance and begin the journey toward the Promised Land of heaven with a renewed mind and a life and mind now controlled by your Spirit. Holy Spirit have your way in my life. Lead me not into temptation, but deliver me from evil. May my life now bring your glory and be pleasing to you in all I do. In Jesus’ name, Amen.

