Submitting to all authority, even your boss who dogs you.

Scripture:
Everyone must submit to governing authorities. For all authority comes from God, and those in positions of authority have been placed there by God. – Romans 13:1

Observation:
In his letter to the Roman believers, Paul tells them they are to submit to the governing authorities, even the Roman emperor who was pagan and deemed himself a deity. He tells them to not resist authority or to disrespect authority because all authority is set into place by God, himself.

Application:
Do you have a boss or supervisor who just gets under your skin or rides you all the time? Do you never seem to get a break while others get away with excuses for their wrongs? Well, understand this one principle in life. God placed all your bosses in your life for a reason. The good bosses you will have are their to encourage you and build you up. The harsh bosses are there to teach you humility and submission. God knows better than we do. Sometimes we need someone in our lives who will push to the limit to test our mettle and to cause to rise to the occasion and step out in faith. Too many “Christians” sit on the side lines as it is and never accomplish what God has in store for them. So the next time your boss comes down hard on you, don’t get angry or retaliate. For vengeance is the Lord’s. He will repay. Just do what your boss tells you to do and learn humility. The more meek and lowly you become, the more like Jesus you become. Remember he didn’t come to be served but to serve. Imitate Christ.

Prayer:
Father, great and holy One who is King of all kings and Lord of all lords, I give you praise today. You know all things, and you know what I need in my life. I want to thank you for all the people you’ve placed in my life in positions of authority. Some have been there to shape me into a better person from a generous viewpoint while others have driven me to my knees in prayer to learn humility. While yet still others have been there to learn from me from the experiences you’ve allowed me to endure. These latter bosses have pulled from wisdom you’ve given me. I am privileged to be both student and teacher to those in authority, at various times. I aim to please you in being obedient to those in authority you’ve placed over me whether they are civil, spiritual, or business leaders. Ultimately, you put them there for my benefit. I love you, Dad. Thanks. In Jesus’ name, Amen.

