The next generation…

Scripture:
After that generation died, another generation grew up who did not acknowledge the –  Lord or remember the mighty things he had done for Israel. – Judges 2:10

Observation:
The author of Judges laments that the generation following those who entered the Promised Land rebelled against God and forgot his blessing and provision. They hadn’t seen the miracles of Egypt or the in the wilderness, so they had no signs to keep them in the faith.

Application:2
Why do so many people rely on “seeing is believing” rather than just trust in God? Even Thomas the apostle refused to believe was resurrected until he saw the scars and could put his hands in his side. Israel under the judges acted in the same way. They never saw God’s mighty deeds (or at the least they refused to acknowledge them). Thus they lived in rebellion toward God and suffered the torture of their enemies. God no longer fought for Israel as he once had, that is until they cried out for salvation from their enemies. The Bible tells us to acknowledge God in all our ways, and then he will guide our steps Do you want to be led of God? Then acknowledge him in all your ways: good, bad, and otherwise.

Prayer:
Father, most precious God who stopped the sun for Joshua and turned it back 30 minutes for Hezekiah, praise, glory, and honor belong to you. I trust in you and believe by faith and don’t rely on my senses. The just shall live by faith. I acknowledge you in all my ways. I rely on you to lead me and guide me into all truth. Seeing isn’t necessarily believing; it’s really doubt and unbelief. Thank you for loving me; I love you. In Jesus’ name, Amen.

