Ensuring that God gets the glory.

Scripture:
The Lord said to Gideon, “You have too many warriors with you. If I let all of you fight the Midianites, the Israelites will boast to me that they saved themselves by their own strength. – Judges 7:2

Observation:
The Lord instructed Gideon to gather men from various tribes to attack and destroy the Midianites. They numbered about 32,000 troops, so the Lord had Gideon send home any man who was afraid. That move left 10,000 troops, so God had Gideon segregate those that lapped water from their hands like a dog rather than getting down on all fours and drinking from the stream. This move left only 300 men, whom God would use to defeat Israel’s enemies. God told Gideon to do all that because a large force would have taken credit for the victory and denied God the glory due his name.

Application:
The Bible teaches us that God will not share his glory with another. He is a jealous and consuming God. John the apostle teaches us in Revelation that God alone is worthy to receive glory, honor, and power. We are created to bring pleasure to God. That is our purpose. Therefore, we must ensure that in all that we do, think, and say that God is given pre-eminence. He must be acknowledged above all else. He is our redeemer and savior. He did all the work to save us. We can do nothing, but with God all things are possible. Therefore, no matter how much success you have in life (or don’t), be sure to give all the credit to God. He made a way for you to be blessed. Don’t be a glory hog. Give him the honor due his name. If we put him first, he will take care of us.

Prayer:
Father, how great and wonderful you are. I humble myself before you and recognize your power, your authority, and give you supremacy over everything in my life. I want to be fully submitted to you. I have walked in pride in the past and paid a hefty price for my arrogance. You brought me to my knees and showed me the reality of life. I want you to always sit atop the throne of my heart and your kingdom. Without you, I am nothing and have nothing. Therefore, I acknowledge you in all that I do. May your name be lifted up among men. May you be true and all men liars. Thank you for being able to do for me what I could not do for myself. In Jesus’ name, Amen.

