Don’t be wise in your own eyes.

Scripture:
As the Scriptures say, “I will destroy the wisdom of the wise and discard the intelligence of the intelligent.” So where does this leave the philosophers, the scholars, and the world’s brilliant debaters? God has made the wisdom of this world look foolish. – 1 Corinthians 1:19-20

Observation:
Paul wrote to the Corinthian church about the foolishness of human wisdom and understanding. He pointed out that the world tries to explain everything in the context of the human mind, but it lacks compared to the understanding of God. People in their day were trying to deny the cross and resurrection of Jesus because it couldn’t be explained in human terms. The saving of people from death seemed futile to the unbeliever. Paul would go on to show how God used the foolish to confound the “wise.”

Application:
According to human standards, I was a pretty smart fellow. The sad part was that I became like most people with any intelligence, quite proud. I walked in pride and arrogance from the age of 14. I used to be the kid that got picked on by others, but when I learned that I had some brains- look out! I turned over and was no longer walked on but stepped on others in time. I became the very person I used to dislike with a vengeance. I thought I used to know it all! I used to remark, “I’ve got all the answers. They may not be the right answers, but I’ve got them all!” How stupid was that!

Please don’t be like I used to be. I implore you to learn to walk in humility before God and boast only in him! We are nothing in and of ourselves. For Jesus said that (regarding salvation) with man it is impossible, but with God all things are possible. We must learn that we have to rely upon God for everything. He may given us a gift of understanding and wisdom, even on a human scale, but we are to use it for his glory not our own. Thus, brethren, I beseech you by the grace of God to submit yourselves to him and learn to walk in humility. Doing so is a life-long process that never ends.

Prayer:
Father, from time to time, I find myself bring proud and/or arrogant. Please help me to find strength in you to continue walking in humility. I will never learn to do so fully in this life, but I want to be as humble as possible. Show me how to be meek and lowly as Jesus was. My intelligence is a gift from you meant to be used for your glory. Show me how to continue in humility and boast only in you. In Jesus’ name, Amen.

