Are you in charge, then be faithful.

Scripture:
Now, a person who is put in charge as a manager must be faithful. – 1 Corinthians 4:2

Observation:
Paul noted to the Corinthians that anyone in charge of something, or manages something, must be faithful. He spoke of his authority in God as an apostle, but his comment would apply to anyone placed in a position to oversee and manage people or things.

Application:
Paul’s words were simple, direct, and spot on. We are all managers in some aspect. We either manage other people or things. You might not think so, but you do. Even if you don’t physically manage other people, you are still your own manager. You have the responsibility of managing your life and daily activities. Thus, we can all learn from Paul here and learn to be faithful, if not to others then to God first and then ourselves. Think about it. You owe it to God, others, and yourself to be faithful. Why? Who can trust someone who is dishonest or shady? Be faithful.

Prayer:
Father, you’ve placed me in a position to manage things and others at my place of employment. Help me to be faithful to you first, the company that entrusts that position to me, and to the ones whom I oversee. I want to make godly decisions regarding how to operate the business and to care for those whom I manage. I remember the words of Paul in that I am to do all things as though unto Christ Jesus and to please you alone. I am not to be like those who do things to receive recognition and praise of men. Instead I humble myself to be one day raised up by you. In Jesus’ name, Amen.

