How much do you really know?

Scripture:
Anyone who claims to know all the answers doesn’t really know very much. – 1 Corinthians 8:2

Observation:
Paul wrote to the Corinthian church about many issues, one of which was on the matter of foods offered to idols. There were people in this church who used their liberty in Christ to do anything they wanted and lorded it over others who had weaker minds on things. The Corinthians seemed to others as having “superior knowledge” on spiritual matters. They came off as spiritual KIAs (know it alls).

Application:
Paul’s comment on not really knowing much is so appropriate to those that think they have all the answers. I know; I used to be a major KIA. Simply put, we need to ensure that even though we may know more than others, we still don’t know it all. God is the only omniscient being in the universe and beyond. Put your trust in him, learn to walk in humility, and don’t lord over others things you may know. Paul taught elsewhere that we are to associate with people of lower estate and not to think to highly of ourselves.

Prayer:
Father, my prayer is a simple one. Help me to walk in humility and not be a KIA. I need great help in this matter. When I think I have all the answers, I really just show people that I don’t know all that much. Help me to be humble and to walk in your grace. In Jesus’ name, Amen.

